The Pictures breaking me!

I had found this amazing photographer who happened to be the younger brother of a dear friend, on Instagram. I just imagined what it would be like to have him to do my album photoshoot.

Then on one occasion I was invited to come perform for a group of women fighting against rape and domestic violence, and this photographer was also invited to cover the event, he did a great job. I knew he would be the one to do my shoot. After the event at the British Council in Lagos, I called my friend and told her I wanted her to help me to talk to her brother.

Well, maybe she did, I wouldn’t know , so I called another friend, by now you may be wondering why I am calling friends and not the person himself- I was trying to use  friendship platform to reduce cost, At the end of the day I had to take the Bull by the horn!

I called the photographer himself and we discussed, the date was fixed, and OMG! I was so excited about it, the photo shoot for my third album, it’s all coming together.

On the day of the shoot, I had woken up quite early, it was as if I was an important appointment, and yes it was very important for me. There was a slight change in the timing but, we still made it. I went with husbandman and my second son.

We got to the venue, a very Porsche studio in Lekki, after going through all the costume I brought, Abu, the photographer, and bossman ,called on his guys to start putting things in order for the shoot while we waited for the Make-up artist who was yet to show up, as it, this time, it was around 4pm and the sons of men were now hungry, we stepped out into a restaurant to grab a bite, and got back to the studio.

I was astonished when I saw a dark-skinned young man, tall coming towards me,he was introduced to as the makeup artist. for real? A man, apparently that was the first time I would see a Man as a makeup artist, I had seen a couple of them on Videofashion,but to have one standing right in my face.

As he was about to start decorating my face I asked him to let us pray, I’m sure he was taken aback, Pray? Just because of Makeup? Yes! pray. I prayed for about 60 seconds and he was on.As he made me up, we engaged in discussion,as I wanted to find out more about him. I found out he is a creative art major in one of the prestigious college of technology in Lagos. He finished the makeup and it was time to get into the business of the day- The shoot proper!

“Take a comfortable position, chin up smile,and the sound of the camera shutter,clicking away per second, he must have taken a zillion shots, then I had to take another shot with the guitar,now that one was quite tedious, because he wanted me to sing and play the guitar at the same time, he wanted me in my natural state, and I just wanted to pose.

After several attempts, the guitar episode ended and I was to change to another costume, on and on we went, and then the final shot by the pool.

By the next day, He sent me two pictures and OMG! I was blown away by what I saw,it was absolutely beautiful before I could respond to him I saw what he wrote on his Instagram page about me and the photo session I couldn’t help the chills and the tears as it flowed down my eyes.

 

IMG_20160718_192022

some of the comments made by the photographer that got me tearing up, 

 

I decided to put up the picture on my facebook wall,and that was it. The comments have just been pouring in like crazy! excuse my language. Little did I know that there will be so much response, not just any response, in those feedbacks, I have able to clearly hear God’s thoughts towards me.

IMG-20160715-WA0002

I have never had such reactions in all my “social media” life and even though I am much of someone who pay particular attention to the social media frenzies, This one has been overwhelming and it like a sign for me. I am just too grateful to God.

 

IMG-20160715-WA0003

I am beautiful, saith the Lord.

 

An incident occurred yesterday which confirmed to me, that the photo sessions and everything taking place at the moment in my life, God is involved. I was at a women’s conference on Saturday( a story for another post), and yesterday evening I felt a nudge in my spirit to write an appreciation note via text, to the convener of the conference. I was struggling with doing it, but I am learning gradually to respond to the nudging of the Holy Spirit without debate.

So I sent a text, a long one indeed, and just a few seconds later,The woman  responded and told me, about how she had seen my picture on facebook earlier yesterday,and the Spirit of God asked her to tell me,” You are beautiful” That was no coincidence at all , It was God ordained .

I became more aware of myself, and the beauty of the Lord that overwhelm me inside and outside.  Thank you, Lord, for loving me and for making me aware that your thoughts towards me,goes beyond what my mind can fathom.

He is thinking great thoughts about you as well!

Shalom.

 

OBA2016@Thekingsoracle.  All rights reserved.

Photos by :@abusalamiphotography . You can also read more of the comment.

 

Leave a Reply

Blogs I Follow

Follow The king'soracle. on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 13,366 hits

Community

Blogs I Follow

Follow The king'soracle. on WordPress.com

Me…in a nutshell!

kingsoracle

kingsoracle

Indie jazz/soul recording artiste,author,speaker and teacher. passionate Christ lover,transformational leader,youth advocate.purpose driven wife and mother.

Personal Links

View Full Profile →

</

Site Title

Welcome to your new home on WordPress.com

Music Progression

Everything you need to know about MUSIC!

Peaceful Journey

"Life's an endless journey of self-realization" Yvonne L

Charday Cherie'

Author, Dancer, Speaker

kingspeech

Inspiring confidence and courage in people

PowerfulU

Learning to live a life of purpose

The Ungodly Woman

My Christian identity--Reclaimed.

Martha L Shaw - Poet, Writer, Artist

In Love Wth The Lord Poetry & Prose

Thus Saith The Lord God

The writing of the Holy Bible continues published by GROY

Mama, Teacher, Helper, and Believer

My journal of Life... as a Mama.

Robin Luftig

Not Only Surviving, But Thriving

Michael J. Fite

Bringing the motivation and encouragement one post at at a time!

theblackwallblog

Let's work together to overcome PTSD, panic, anxiety, depression in ourselves and others.

bookreviews 1966 blog

Top Amazon Book Reviewer Jackie Paulson © 2016

Photography Art Plus

Photography, Animals, Flowers, Nature, Sky

518-songofmypeople

A town everyone hates, yet no one leaves...

Site Title

Welcome to your new home on WordPress.com

Music Progression

Everything you need to know about MUSIC!

Peaceful Journey

"Life's an endless journey of self-realization" Yvonne L

Charday Cherie'

Author, Dancer, Speaker

kingspeech

Inspiring confidence and courage in people

PowerfulU

Learning to live a life of purpose

The Ungodly Woman

My Christian identity--Reclaimed.

Martha L Shaw - Poet, Writer, Artist

In Love Wth The Lord Poetry & Prose

Thus Saith The Lord God

The writing of the Holy Bible continues published by GROY

Mama, Teacher, Helper, and Believer

My journal of Life... as a Mama.

Robin Luftig

Not Only Surviving, But Thriving

Michael J. Fite

Bringing the motivation and encouragement one post at at a time!

theblackwallblog

Let's work together to overcome PTSD, panic, anxiety, depression in ourselves and others.

bookreviews 1966 blog

Top Amazon Book Reviewer Jackie Paulson © 2016

Photography Art Plus

Photography, Animals, Flowers, Nature, Sky

518-songofmypeople

A town everyone hates, yet no one leaves...

