Ask and you shall receive-Personal

AI made a booking several weeks ago to have a photoshoot session as part of the last stage of production for my album project. Which I have been working on for sometimes now. I was given an appointment for the second week in July , which means this week.

Before or after booking the appointment for the photo sessions, I had a nudge to put a call through to one of my friends who happened to be a  fashionpreneur and a style consultant. She had styled me on one or two occasion way back. So I called her around June but she was out of town, and she told me she would be around the first week in July.

Of course, I had forgotten about our discussion until late last night, when I was trying to figure out my costumes and accessories for the shoot. Immediately I sent her a message that she told me she would be in town about this time. She didn’t reply the message so I didn’t bother.

It was this morning,that she finally replied that she had been working on the house since she returned and she’s been busy and all that and all that. I wanted her to style for this particular shoot,but as at today ,I thought it was too late to ask her to style me with some of her African design which flows well with my brand.

What do I do o? I ask myself, “should I go ahead and ask or should I just forget about it and make do with what I already have.” I summoned courage, the worst she can tell me is No! that is better than not attempting at all. And what if she says Yes, I wouldn’t know until I ask.

I send another text  to respond to her reply and told her I wanted her to sponsor the photoshoot with some of her signature design. Her immediate response blew my mind she said ,Yes that they were closing down the clothing line and moving on to greater heights, and as a result of the closure ,all the clothes have been in sales, and there are just  a few left.

She said I can come to the boutique and pick whatever I like of the rack, really? I ask, and she said yes again.  “Can I come right away”? ,I asked and she told me another yes.

Off I went to Allen Avenue, where the boutique is located and I met with the manager,and told her to call the madam. She did and my friend to her to attend to me ,I should pick any style I like.

Long story short, I was changing from one style to another looking for the perfect fit,and the end of the day, I was had about 3 different dresses- African fabric meet

king for the perfect fit,and the end of the day, I was had about 3 different dresses- African fabric meet uber style for my photo shoot – Free of charge! I didn’t pay a dime. If I was to pay I would have spent about 30-35,000 naira on those dresses.

What is the moral of this story?

Sometimes when you have a nudging to ask someone for help or assistance, you are scared or afraid of been turned down,and because of that, you never get to ask again. That happens to me.

The scriptures says,

Ask and it shall be given you, seek and you will find;knock and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives……

For everyone who ask , receives! How profound is that? another passage of the Bible tells us that the reason we don’t have is because we are not asking,and when we do ask we ask for the wrong reasons.

Like I said earlier, I had that impression to ask her about a month ago, and when I found out she was out of the country I forgot about it. Until  Last night/ this morning when I had that same impression. At first, I didn’t know how to ask her outrightly to give me some of her designs. So I ask if she could sponsor the shoot by styling me.  She gladly supported without stress.

 

 

IMG_20160713_205425.jpg

Trying out one of the outfits in my lobby-SIMPLE &CUTE AFRICAN DESIGN.

 

 

 

Lessons Learnt:  Don’t  limit your possibilities with a closed mouth.

Don’t be afraid of what people might think or say when you ask for help or assistance.

Remember. ASK AND IT SHALL BE GIVEN.

 

OBA2016@Thekingsoracle. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

Blogs I Follow

Follow The king'soracle. on WordPress.com

Top Posts & Pages

Blog Stats

  • 13,000 hits

Community

Blogs I Follow

Follow The king'soracle. on WordPress.com

Top Posts & Pages

Me…in a nutshell!

kingsoracle

kingsoracle

Indie jazz/soul recording artiste,author,speaker and teacher. passionate Christ lover,transformational leader,youth advocate.purpose driven wife and mother.

Personal Links

View Full Profile →

</

Site Title

Welcome to your new home on WordPress.com

Music Progression

Everything you need to know about MUSIC!

Peaceful Journey

"Life's an endless journey of self-realization" Yvonne L

kingspeech

Inspiring confidence and courage in people

Hodgepodge 4 the Soul™

Living Life with Jesus

PowerfulU

Learning to live a life of purpose

The Ungodly Woman

My Christian identity--Reclaimed.

Martha L Shaw - Poet, Writer, Artist

In Love Wth The Lord Poetry & Prose

Thus Saith The Lord God

The writing of the Holy Bible continues published by GROY

Kingdom Calling Blog...

To live a naturally supernatural life.

Mama, Teacher, Helper, and Believer

My journal of Life... as a Mama.

Robin Luftig

Not Only Surviving, But Thriving

Michael J. Fite

Bringing the motivation and encouragement one post at at a time!

theblackwallblog

Let's work together to overcome PTSD, panic, anxiety, depression in ourselves and others.

bookreviews 1966 blog

Top Amazon Book Reviewer Jackie Paulson © 2016

Photography Art Plus

Photography, Animals, Flowers, Nature, Sky

518-songofmypeople

A town everyone hates, yet no one leaves...

Site Title

Welcome to your new home on WordPress.com

Music Progression

Everything you need to know about MUSIC!

Peaceful Journey

"Life's an endless journey of self-realization" Yvonne L

kingspeech

Inspiring confidence and courage in people

Hodgepodge 4 the Soul™

Living Life with Jesus

PowerfulU

Learning to live a life of purpose

The Ungodly Woman

My Christian identity--Reclaimed.

Martha L Shaw - Poet, Writer, Artist

In Love Wth The Lord Poetry & Prose

Thus Saith The Lord God

The writing of the Holy Bible continues published by GROY

Kingdom Calling Blog...

To live a naturally supernatural life.

Mama, Teacher, Helper, and Believer

My journal of Life... as a Mama.

Robin Luftig

Not Only Surviving, But Thriving

Michael J. Fite

Bringing the motivation and encouragement one post at at a time!

theblackwallblog

Let's work together to overcome PTSD, panic, anxiety, depression in ourselves and others.

bookreviews 1966 blog

Top Amazon Book Reviewer Jackie Paulson © 2016

Photography Art Plus

Photography, Animals, Flowers, Nature, Sky

518-songofmypeople

A town everyone hates, yet no one leaves...

