Beyond new year resolution 2.

Yesterday I asked a question.

What will you do differently in 2016? . This was the same question I asked myself in January 2015. You see I was tired of writing new year resolutions and not being able  to keep the goals. Before the year 2015,I was reading Stephen coveys ‘ 7 Habits of highly effective people. It did open my eyes to certain truth about myself.

I didn’t want to start 2015 with the usual (‘same ol’ same ol’). what will I do differently this year asked myself, in all honesty it was a difficult question because it required that I really look into every area of my life and decide what to change,do away it,and new habits to inculcate.  

That question in the beginning of the year,opened me up to work on self Improvement and focus on Family. Today with just about 9 days to the end of 2015. I can say that I did my Family life differently  and created room for bonding in my marriage and with the entire family.

As regards self improvement one of the major area I focused on was with personal finance- I began to read more books on finance,wealth creation and all that. I must say that it helped me- My personal finance in 2015 is something to be proud of ,I was able to reduce on wastage,and saved more.

Based on the results I have seen in my life,as a result of the question. Here are some tips to finding the alternatives, to making new year resolutions,and sticking to it.

*What is the one thing that you really want to do? That thing you can actually achieve and celebrate when it’s done. 

It may be more than one, but the rationale behind this is actually focusing on the needful that will propel you to a greater height,in whichever area of your life.

*Don’t write resolutions without deadlines. Focus on the process that gets you closer to your goals,and give yourself deadlines. 

One of things I set out to do differently was in the area of my calling/profession-Music. In the past years of releasing an album it took me 3 years to release my second album,which was released in 2012  due to lack of funds as an independent artist who was not under any label. With the new album project I have been working on, I set a deadline of 1 year, and that funds will not delay.Today the album is almost a wrap and of a truth,funding as not been an issue.

*Be prepared for all that it going to take to see your goals achieved.

You have to be ready beyond.to give it all your best in terms of everything it will cost you to see the goals becoming a reality. I didn’t want my album project to take me another 3 years like the previous one did.So what did I do? I started saving towards it,and at every point when we needed funds to do what was needful,We got it. wishful thinking will not get you anywhere,If you must make meaningful progress in the coming year.You’re not going to wish it, be ready to make the necessary sacrifice towards the achievement of the goals.

*Work from your personal values.

Sometimes we want to copy others , because we think they have good ideas, only to find out along the line that those ideas are not really in sync with our value system and we give up. If you must make any difference in 2016, you must align yourself to those activities and pursuits that align with your core values and belief system.

Don’t wait for January 1st before you start, start now. Do your appraisals for the year ending and then begin to map out those things that you will do differently in 2016.

Write the vision and make it plain on tablets,so that a herald may run with it. Hab 2:2

 

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. moonskittles
    Dec 23, 2015 @ 07:43:15

    I like the part about being “tired of writing new ones”. I can identify with it. May you be successful and blessed! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

  2. Kitty
    Dec 23, 2015 @ 07:46:16

    I do agree sometimes you need to sit back and think what do I really want out of life or should I just keep rolling on…

    Well done and good luck with Album number three. 😉

    Like

    Reply

    • kingsoracle
      Dec 23, 2015 @ 09:18:10

      Yes, It good to reflect, Pause and think about what it is really we want from life. It is in that moment that we truly figure out whats most important to us and those things that are trivial. Thank you . Merry Christmas and a prosperous new year. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply

  3. jacquelineobyikocha
    Dec 23, 2015 @ 08:38:41

    Totally awesome ! Go girl. Good luck

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. Gretiana
    Dec 23, 2015 @ 09:11:04

    Amen, thank you sister.

    Like

    Reply

  5. kingsoracle
    Dec 23, 2015 @ 09:11:50

    Thank you Sis. 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blogs I Follow

Follow The king'soracle. on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 12,995 hits

Community

Blogs I Follow

Follow The king'soracle. on WordPress.com

Me…in a nutshell!

kingsoracle

kingsoracle

Indie jazz/soul recording artiste,author,speaker and teacher. passionate Christ lover,transformational leader,youth advocate.purpose driven wife and mother.

Personal Links

View Full Profile →

</

Site Title

Welcome to your new home on WordPress.com

Music Progression

Everything you need to know about MUSIC!

Peaceful Journey

"Life's an endless journey of self-realization" Yvonne L

kingspeech

Inspiring confidence and courage in people

Hodgepodge 4 the Soul™

Living Life with Jesus

PowerfulU

Learning to live a life of purpose

The Ungodly Woman

My Christian identity--Reclaimed.

Martha L Shaw - Poet, Writer, Artist

In Love Wth The Lord Poetry & Prose

Thus Saith The Lord God

The writing of the Holy Bible continues published by GROY

Kingdom Calling Blog...

To live a naturally supernatural life.

Mama, Teacher, Helper, and Believer

My journal of Life... as a Mama.

Robin Luftig

Not Only Surviving, But Thriving

Michael J. Fite

Bringing the motivation and encouragement one post at at a time!

theblackwallblog

Let's work together to overcome PTSD, panic, anxiety, depression in ourselves and others.

bookreviews 1966 blog

Top Amazon Book Reviewer Jackie Paulson © 2016

Photography Art Plus

Photography, Animals, Flowers, Nature, Sky

518-songofmypeople

A town everyone hates, yet no one leaves...

Site Title

Welcome to your new home on WordPress.com

Music Progression

Everything you need to know about MUSIC!

Peaceful Journey

"Life's an endless journey of self-realization" Yvonne L

kingspeech

Inspiring confidence and courage in people

Hodgepodge 4 the Soul™

Living Life with Jesus

PowerfulU

Learning to live a life of purpose

The Ungodly Woman

My Christian identity--Reclaimed.

Martha L Shaw - Poet, Writer, Artist

In Love Wth The Lord Poetry & Prose

Thus Saith The Lord God

The writing of the Holy Bible continues published by GROY

Kingdom Calling Blog...

To live a naturally supernatural life.

Mama, Teacher, Helper, and Believer

My journal of Life... as a Mama.

Robin Luftig

Not Only Surviving, But Thriving

Michael J. Fite

Bringing the motivation and encouragement one post at at a time!

theblackwallblog

Let's work together to overcome PTSD, panic, anxiety, depression in ourselves and others.

bookreviews 1966 blog

Top Amazon Book Reviewer Jackie Paulson © 2016

Photography Art Plus

Photography, Animals, Flowers, Nature, Sky

518-songofmypeople

A town everyone hates, yet no one leaves...

