About Last Night

Its a beautiful Saturday morning, my eyes are quite drowsy from last night’s performance at Ginger tapas&grill, a great Nigeria meet Spanish cuisine in one of the high brows of Lagos.(This gal needs to sleep!!

The experience at tapas brought memories of “AneveningwithOBA&Friends a regular Christian jazz/soul lounge that I run with my crew, its been a while that we hosted OBA&Friends because I have been working on a album project. That’s story for another post I guess. 🙂

IMG-20151212-WA0011

Apparently all my band members had to sleep over at my house because we finished late from the event,so everyone had to pass the night at my house. I am so blessed by these wonderful people who add Color  to my assignment of life. The value of friendship and relationship.

In my Zone. ;)

In my Zone. 😉

The whole experience was fun,and despite the fact that I am accustomed to singing about Christ love and healing within the four walls of Church and in bars,and lounges all across Lagos,I was a little bit nervous last night probably because it was our first time there, I couldn’t help but think about the audience acceptance of someone singing about God in a bar like that

.FullSizeRender

The nervousness affected me at the onset of performance,but as soon as I reminded myself that God must have a reason for the opening, and pep myself up under one breath,my confidence came back and for 3 hours non stop we sang and sang.

I could see the expression on a few people,as they tried to move them to beat of soulful “Christian song”. The applaud and the side chit-chat showed they loved our performance.

IMG-20151212-WA0017

I am grateful that I can use my gifts and talent to tell the world about Christ love and not be apologetic about my belief.

About last night, I learn’t if you stay secure in your assignment,and not try to be like the others, Your peculiar platform will open to you.

When  you give yourself totally to a cause, there will always be amazing results.

People like Originality.

For every Christian musician who thinks his/her assignment starts and end in the Church, you may have to think again, there is work on the field and people are really searching for meaning.

Jesus said,’go into all the world and preach the gospel, he did say stay in your local church!

I do not claim to know it all,I have to confess that sometimes I am often perplexed at the thought of going outside of the church wall, but I have realized that it is a dual assignment to the body of Christ and all others without bias, because we are all God’s children.

The work is out there,and music is one of the powerful tool for transformation in a society,community,home,or individual. I saw a bit of that last night.

As I appraise myself for the year ending,my outlook for the coming year with respect to my sound and music is to keep sharping my sword, spiritually,skillfully, and in terms of people skill as well, so that I am relevant to the body of Christ and the world at large,not religiously, but with integrity and authenticity to be able to influence my immediate circle of influence positively.

#justsaying.#music&me.

OBAIMG-20151212-WA0008

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Oluseye Ashiru
    Dec 12, 2015 @ 18:12:12

    Way to Go Sis! Mega proud of you. I’m in Lagos o, didn’t get my Invite. Lol.
    We won’t know the flavour of salt if it isn’t used. We can’t stay in church and make impact. I am so happy that You are getting fulfilled doing what you love and using it as a means to glorify God. This is one area I am trusting God to help in as I journey into 2016 – to make more impact.
    Well Done Sis!

    Like

    Reply

  2. kingsoracle
    Dec 12, 2015 @ 18:36:37

    Thanks Sis, oh you in Lagos really. That’s great to know. I should invite you for gigs then o. Yes you are so right, We have been doing outreach like this one for over 3 years now,and God has used it to open platform to fearlessly raise the banner through music,I trust God greater and wider impact in the new year. Where in Lagos are you? would it be nice to hook up someday soon? Grace multiplied on all side. 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  3. Trackback: He’s Hung Over….Husband Wanted Urgently! | a cooking pot and twistedtales

Leave a Reply

Blogs I Follow

Follow The king'soracle. on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 13,371 hits

Community

Me…in a nutshell!

kingsoracle

kingsoracle

Indie jazz/soul recording artiste,author,speaker and teacher. passionate Christ lover,transformational leader,youth advocate.purpose driven wife and mother.

Personal Links

View Full Profile →

</

Site Title

Welcome to your new home on WordPress.com

Music Progression

Everything you need to know about MUSIC!

Peaceful Journey

"Life's an endless journey of self-realization" Yvonne L

Charday Cherie'

Author, Dancer, Speaker

kingspeech

Inspiring confidence and courage in people

PowerfulU

Learning to live a life of purpose

The Ungodly Woman

My Christian identity--Reclaimed.

Martha L Shaw - Poet, Writer, Artist

In Love Wth The Lord Poetry & Prose

Thus Saith The Lord God

The writing of the Holy Bible continues published by GROY

Mama, Teacher, Helper, and Believer

My journal of Life... as a Mama.

Robin Luftig

Not Only Surviving, But Thriving

Michael J. Fite

Bringing the motivation and encouragement one post at at a time!

theblackwallblog

Let's work together to overcome PTSD, panic, anxiety, depression in ourselves and others.

bookreviews 1966 blog

Top Amazon Book Reviewer Jackie Paulson © 2016

Photography Art Plus

Photography, Animals, Flowers, Nature, Sky

518-songofmypeople

A town everyone hates, yet no one leaves...

Site Title

Welcome to your new home on WordPress.com

Music Progression

Everything you need to know about MUSIC!

Peaceful Journey

"Life's an endless journey of self-realization" Yvonne L

Charday Cherie'

Author, Dancer, Speaker

kingspeech

Inspiring confidence and courage in people

PowerfulU

Learning to live a life of purpose

The Ungodly Woman

My Christian identity--Reclaimed.

Martha L Shaw - Poet, Writer, Artist

In Love Wth The Lord Poetry & Prose

Thus Saith The Lord God

The writing of the Holy Bible continues published by GROY

Mama, Teacher, Helper, and Believer

My journal of Life... as a Mama.

Robin Luftig

Not Only Surviving, But Thriving

Michael J. Fite

Bringing the motivation and encouragement one post at at a time!

theblackwallblog

Let's work together to overcome PTSD, panic, anxiety, depression in ourselves and others.

bookreviews 1966 blog

Top Amazon Book Reviewer Jackie Paulson © 2016

Photography Art Plus

Photography, Animals, Flowers, Nature, Sky

518-songofmypeople

A town everyone hates, yet no one leaves...

