7 Things I learnt from writing everyday.

A writer without a dream,is just another person who puts words together.

A few days ago, I saw the notification from wordpress.com ,that my blog was already a year old. It was indeed something to be grateful for because even though I am still in the process of finding my true voice. I am glad that this platform has given me an opportunity for my voice to be heard. And that I am making sense at least…..I hope :).

Today I decided that I will share a a few tips of what I have learnt from the art of writing/blogging everyday.I must confess that everyday is not the same when it comes to writing. I kind of feel like just forgetting about the whole thing some other days.

WRITER'S ANATOMY

FEW LESSONS LEARNT SO FAR…

*Multitudes,multitudes in the valley of decision-This is one of my favourite lines from the scriptures and it clearly points that on a daily basis,the human existence is based on decision. as a writer or blogger,you must decide what you want to achieve with your writing? what do you want to bring to the table for the people? what problem will your creative writing or blogging artistry be solving? and you must also decide that no matter what happens to your “stats” or “readership” you will continue to write. Now that was a hard one to swallow for me,because I still feel a little disappointed when dem ‘stats’ don’t rise. 😦

*Excuses, excuses: It is quite easy to excuse oneself away from writing. especially when you find yourself in a dilemma of having so much to write, yet finding it difficult to write about something. There was a time when I found myself lost in the middle of so many writing ideas to write,and couldn’t get myself to actually write any. In my dilemma I asked myself,”what do you do when you have so much to write about?’ I pondered over that question for a while and then the answer came to me. WRITE AS MUCH AS YOU CAN,WHEN YOU CAN!

*Home runs? Not everyday darling! You can’t hit a home run every single day. life is about rhythm, sometimes it upbeat and fast tempo, other times,its just slow pace. It is,likewise with writing. All you just have to do is to keep doing it.

*Write and write more,and then write and write more.

The-writer-225x140

*The more you write,the more ideas flow to you. That is so true, it is so amazing how ideas flows to me,since I started writing on a regular basis,I mean it crazy,I could be in a conversation and then some words will just jump at me,and I just start developing them in mind,that’s why I am always with a pen and paper,to write down as many titles or ideas that flows to me. Now, when I get speaking engagements it is a lot easier to develop the ideas and deliver promptly.

*Clarity is second nature -The more you write,the less time you spend on writing the piece(that sounds like??) when you write more,your writing muscles get better ,becomes faster,and your thoughts gets clearer. The clearer you get ,the better your writing skills. Your thoughts become clearer,and you are able to to articulate your words,such that your audience can understand and be able to connect with you seamlessly.

*Fear-get rid of your fear,and find out what works for you. I am still W.I.P  (work in progress)  as far as the last point is concerned. I know without a doubt that I am passionate about Leadership,Womanhood,Music,Christian living,and lifestyle in general. I still have fear and doubts, but I am gradually finding me in all these areas.

What are the things you have learnt in your journey as a writer/blogger? would you mind sharing some of them as well.? 😉

 

Photo credit: teacherspayteacher.com

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tiegan
    Dec 04, 2015 @ 22:13:38

    I’ve definitely learned not to compare myself to other writers.

    I’m always trying to write short stories and poetry, and I’m always comparing them to my favourite poets and authors.

    It doesn’t help your writing and you will never become as good as your inspirations if you don’t continue!

    -T

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Margaret
    Dec 05, 2015 @ 01:03:28

    you are just so inspiring,this is really true!

    Like

    Reply

  3. handikwani02
    Dec 06, 2015 @ 21:53:49

    Oba I am glad I decided to follow your blog, thank you ever so much for this post. I can not even remember how many years I have been blogging but never h has someone shared their writing experiences like you have done.
    You have really got me thinking about why it is I am writing and where I want to take my writing. I have sort of taught myself to be a writer and it is taking so long to really take off.
    I so appreciate all you have shared in this post, which have made me realise that my two blogs need a total ‘make over’ thank you once again.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. Victor Uyanwanne
    Dec 07, 2015 @ 18:30:14

    Oba, I agree with you, especially on this one: “The more you write,the more ideas flow to you. ” I have definitely experienced it. Thanks.

    Like

    Reply

  5. calmkate
    Dec 26, 2015 @ 00:02:25

    I am just most grateful to WordPress for this free forum to blog!
    For the kindred spirits who follow or take the time to read!
    I love poetry and it’s great to be able to express when something touches me …
    Like the idea that people have the freedom to read, comment or close …

    Thanks for sharing

    Like

    Reply

  6. kingsoracle
    Dec 26, 2015 @ 18:54:57

    Thanks so much calmkate,The feeling is mutual. You are such an amazing personality. 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  7. VictorsCorner
    Mar 12, 2016 @ 20:56:46

    Your observation is right. The more you write the more ideas flow to you.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blogs I Follow

Follow The king'soracle. on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 13,153 hits

Community

Blogs I Follow

Follow The king'soracle. on WordPress.com

Me…in a nutshell!

kingsoracle

kingsoracle

Indie jazz/soul recording artiste,author,speaker and teacher. passionate Christ lover,transformational leader,youth advocate.purpose driven wife and mother.

Personal Links

View Full Profile →

</

Site Title

Welcome to your new home on WordPress.com

Music Progression

Everything you need to know about MUSIC!

Peaceful Journey

"Life's an endless journey of self-realization" Yvonne L

Charday Cherie'

Author, Dancer, Speaker

kingspeech

Inspiring confidence and courage in people

Hodgepodge 4 the Soul™

Living Life with Jesus

PowerfulU

Learning to live a life of purpose

The Ungodly Woman

My Christian identity--Reclaimed.

Martha L Shaw - Poet, Writer, Artist

In Love Wth The Lord Poetry & Prose

Thus Saith The Lord God

The writing of the Holy Bible continues published by GROY

Mama, Teacher, Helper, and Believer

My journal of Life... as a Mama.

Robin Luftig

Not Only Surviving, But Thriving

Michael J. Fite

Bringing the motivation and encouragement one post at at a time!

theblackwallblog

Let's work together to overcome PTSD, panic, anxiety, depression in ourselves and others.

bookreviews 1966 blog

Top Amazon Book Reviewer Jackie Paulson © 2016

Photography Art Plus

Photography, Animals, Flowers, Nature, Sky

518-songofmypeople

A town everyone hates, yet no one leaves...

Site Title

Welcome to your new home on WordPress.com

Music Progression

Everything you need to know about MUSIC!

Peaceful Journey

"Life's an endless journey of self-realization" Yvonne L

Charday Cherie'

Author, Dancer, Speaker

kingspeech

Inspiring confidence and courage in people

Hodgepodge 4 the Soul™

Living Life with Jesus

PowerfulU

Learning to live a life of purpose

The Ungodly Woman

My Christian identity--Reclaimed.

Martha L Shaw - Poet, Writer, Artist

In Love Wth The Lord Poetry & Prose

Thus Saith The Lord God

The writing of the Holy Bible continues published by GROY

Mama, Teacher, Helper, and Believer

My journal of Life... as a Mama.

Robin Luftig

Not Only Surviving, But Thriving

Michael J. Fite

Bringing the motivation and encouragement one post at at a time!

theblackwallblog

Let's work together to overcome PTSD, panic, anxiety, depression in ourselves and others.

bookreviews 1966 blog

Top Amazon Book Reviewer Jackie Paulson © 2016

Photography Art Plus

Photography, Animals, Flowers, Nature, Sky

518-songofmypeople

A town everyone hates, yet no one leaves...

