For The Love of Songwriting.

A tiring monday it has been.Its 8:50pm  and I just woke up after a naggingSongwriting-Clinics headache,and suddenly I remembered that I have not posted my #MondayMusic&Me diary.So I hope it not too late to write,the most important thing is to keep the momentum and be discipline to keep the appointment with you my amiable readers and musicians.

Today, my focus is on the art of songwriting,Though I do not consider myself as an expert in the songwriting field,I have seen fantastic singers/songwriters over the years and I believe I am work in progress.Nevertheless I am grateful for the opportunities I have had to put out some songs out there.

Songwiting is not for the weak at heart,it is for the courageous,for those who are willing to take risk and accept criticism( constructive or otherwise),because your writing, just as the songs will be under scrutiny by your audience at large.I have been writing songs for quite a while now and believe me,it is still a learning field for me.

You don’t write songs just because you want to make a”hit” or you want to be on the billboard chart for several weeks,you write songs because you have been given a message ,you become a channel of expression for the benefit of the audience. You are what you write, you are what you sing about,because songwriting is a reflection of who you are. I must confess the way I write is quite unusual,and there have been times when I was required to write verses for a song urgently. At that point in time I was compelled to deliver .It was really a difficult task because this time I had to write something under a time frame.

I wrote the song,and since then,I have been practicing the art of writing songs consciously and not out of spontaneity which happens to me more often. John Chisom said in one of the songwriters masterclass I attended,that one of the ways to improve your songwriting skills is to read widely.You have to be well read!

“If you are going to be a great writer,you have to be a great reader”

Here are some tips that I have found very helpful and I hope you find them helpful too.

1.Songwriting is like any other discipline.you have to practice to become accomplished.

2.You have to develop the muscles that allows you to become a proficient writer.

3.Listen to as many of other people’s song as you can,especially those songwriters whose are classics. I have been listening to Jonathan Mcreynolds lately. His songs are  off the hook! 🙂

4.Always carry a notebook when you are out and about,so that you can jot any song idea that comes to you at any given time. I have had song ideas in the middle of the night that I had to jump out of bed to write. and there had been times that some other ideas came and I forgot because I didnt pen it down.

5. Be willing to rewrite and rewrite and rewrite.

With a rewrite,a good song can become a great song.And with a rewrite agreat song can become a classic.

Till I come your way on#MondayMusic&Me,

Remember,when you attract attention with your music,you also attract opinion!.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Damien Riley
    Nov 10, 2015 @ 00:19:49

    Wonderful post, I agree with everything you said. My favorite part was the carrying a notebook. Every songwriter I’ve ever known, including myself, has practiced that.

    Like

    Reply

    • kingsoracle
      Nov 10, 2015 @ 05:29:46

      That is so true Damien,you know the short pen on paper is far better than the longest memory,certain ideas envelope you in split seconds if you don’t learn the art of capturing them immediately, they get lost.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  2. jessamayann
    Nov 10, 2015 @ 00:20:52

    Is like to read one of your songs..;)

    Like

    Reply

  3. jacquelineobyikocha
    Nov 10, 2015 @ 01:23:23

    It makes a lot of sense. There are some songs I hear these days and I wonder what was wrong with the writer’s head. Curses, profanity etc will be jumping out and scaring someone. Great post!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blogs I Follow

Follow The king'soracle. on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 13,154 hits

Community

Me…in a nutshell!

kingsoracle

kingsoracle

Indie jazz/soul recording artiste,author,speaker and teacher. passionate Christ lover,transformational leader,youth advocate.purpose driven wife and mother.

Personal Links

View Full Profile →

</

Site Title

Welcome to your new home on WordPress.com

Music Progression

Everything you need to know about MUSIC!

Peaceful Journey

"Life's an endless journey of self-realization" Yvonne L

Charday Cherie'

Author, Dancer, Speaker

kingspeech

Inspiring confidence and courage in people

Hodgepodge 4 the Soul™

Living Life with Jesus

PowerfulU

Learning to live a life of purpose

The Ungodly Woman

My Christian identity--Reclaimed.

Martha L Shaw - Poet, Writer, Artist

In Love Wth The Lord Poetry & Prose

Thus Saith The Lord God

The writing of the Holy Bible continues published by GROY

Mama, Teacher, Helper, and Believer

My journal of Life... as a Mama.

Robin Luftig

Not Only Surviving, But Thriving

Michael J. Fite

Bringing the motivation and encouragement one post at at a time!

theblackwallblog

Let's work together to overcome PTSD, panic, anxiety, depression in ourselves and others.

bookreviews 1966 blog

Top Amazon Book Reviewer Jackie Paulson © 2016

Photography Art Plus

Photography, Animals, Flowers, Nature, Sky

518-songofmypeople

A town everyone hates, yet no one leaves...

Site Title

Welcome to your new home on WordPress.com

Music Progression

Everything you need to know about MUSIC!

Peaceful Journey

"Life's an endless journey of self-realization" Yvonne L

Charday Cherie'

Author, Dancer, Speaker

kingspeech

Inspiring confidence and courage in people

Hodgepodge 4 the Soul™

Living Life with Jesus

PowerfulU

Learning to live a life of purpose

The Ungodly Woman

My Christian identity--Reclaimed.

Martha L Shaw - Poet, Writer, Artist

In Love Wth The Lord Poetry & Prose

Thus Saith The Lord God

The writing of the Holy Bible continues published by GROY

Mama, Teacher, Helper, and Believer

My journal of Life... as a Mama.

Robin Luftig

Not Only Surviving, But Thriving

Michael J. Fite

Bringing the motivation and encouragement one post at at a time!

theblackwallblog

Let's work together to overcome PTSD, panic, anxiety, depression in ourselves and others.

bookreviews 1966 blog

Top Amazon Book Reviewer Jackie Paulson © 2016

Photography Art Plus

Photography, Animals, Flowers, Nature, Sky

518-songofmypeople

A town everyone hates, yet no one leaves...

